Putnam County DUI Defense Attorney
The Only Firm Dedicated to Handling DUI Cases in West Virginia
A DUI conviction in West Virginia can lead to costly fines, a lengthy suspension of your driver’s license, and even time spent behind bars. In addition, having a permanent criminal record can make getting a job, applying for college, or living a normal life extremely difficult. However, an arrest is not the same as a conviction. You still have a chance to fight the charges against you with the help of an experienced attorney.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving, our Putnam County DUI defense lawyer at The Wagner Law Firm can provide effective and personalized legal solutions to help you either get your charged reduced or your case dismissed altogether. Attorney Harley Wagner has over 22 years of experience and has successfully handled over 2,500 DUI cases in more than 40 counties throughout West Virginia. We can investigate your case and determine if the police violated your rights or if there are any weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case against you.
Do not hesitate to call (304) 461-6000 for a free consultation today.
WV DUI Laws & Penalties
West Virginia drunk driving laws state that a person at least 21 years old can be charged with driving under the influence if he/she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least .08 percent or is deemed inebriated due to alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both substances. However, the legal limit for commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders is .04 percent, and the legal limit for underage drivers (under 21) is .02 percent.
The following are the penalties for DUI in the state:
- First DUI conviction – Driver’s license revocation for up to a year or up to thirteen and one-half months of an ignition interlock system, a maximum $500 fine (not including court costs), and a jail sentence no more than six months.
- Second DUI conviction – Driver’s license revocation for up to ten years or three years of interlock installation in vehicle, a maximum $3,000 fine (not including court costs), and a jail sentence not exceeding one year.
- Third or subsequent DUI conviction – Lifetime driver’s license revocation or four years of ignition interlock, a maximum $5,000 fine (not including court costs), and a jail term of up to five years.
Call (304) 461-6000 for Experienced & Skilled Legal Defense Today
Our Putnam County DUI defense attorney has more than 600 hours of DUI defense training, serves as a state delegate for the National College for DUI Defense’s Board of Regents, wrote a book titled, “West Virginia DUI Defense: the Law and Practice,” and is one of only two lawyers who understands how to use the Intoximeter EC/IRII, which is used by state law enforcement officials. So, when you’re facing DUI charges in Putnam County, there is only one firm to rely on to help you obtain the most favorable outcome in your case.
Contact us today to discuss your case with Attorney Harley Wagner.