Morgan County DUI Defense Attorney
Call (304) 461-6000 for Skilled & Experienced Legal Counsel in West Virginia
A DUI conviction in Morgan County, WV, not only leads to serious penalties such as fines, driver’s license suspension, and time spent behind bars, but also a permanent criminal record that can ruin your career and standing within your family and the community. When facing such penalties, it is imperative to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney to avoid a criminal conviction.
At The Wagner Law Firm, our Morgan County DUI lawyer has over 22 years of experience defending more than 2,500 DUI cases in 40 counties throughout West Virginia. Attorney Harley Wagner is recognized as one of the best DUI defense lawyers in the state by defending thousands of clients and obtaining more than 600 hours of DUI defense training in certified seminars.
WV DUI Laws & Penalties
A DUI in West Virginia occurs when a person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least .08 percent or under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both. Penalties for a DUI are based on the facts of the case.
A first DUI offense carries a maximum six-month jail term, fines of up to $500, and driver’s license suspension for six months. However, if a person’s BAC is at .15 percent, he/she faces harsher penalties.
A second DUI offense within the last ten years is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year, a maximum $3,000 fine, and driver’s license revocation for up to 10 years. A third DUI offense within the last decade leads to a jail sentence of up to five years, fines of up to $5,000, and lifetime driver’s license revocation.
Ready to Discuss Your Case Today
Whether it is your first DUI or your fourth, Attorney Wagner can thoroughly investigate your arrest, collect supporting evidence, and build an effective and personalized defense strategy to either get your case dismissed altogether or your charges reduced. Do not wait to take immediate legal action.
Contact us today to schedule a free case review.