DUI Defense Attorneys in Cabell County
Committed to Protecting the Rights of Every Client We Serve
After being arrested for a DUI for the first time, you might feel like your life is over. The stress and uncertainty of the situation might be so overwhelming that you might believe your only option is to accept the penalties of this serious charge. However, these types of cases are not necessarily a guaranteed win for the prosecuting attorney. At The Wagner Law Firm in Cabell County, our DUI defense team has what it takes to fight to reduce or eliminate these charges, so you can move forward with your life and put this terrible incident behind you.
Get started on protecting your rights today and contact The Wagner Law Firm at (304) 461-6000 to arrange a free initial consultation with one of our trusted attorneys.
Penalties for a DUI Conviction in West Virginia
When it comes to DUI convictions, most states impose some rather harsh penalties on offenders and West Virginia is no exception, especially when it comes to subsequent convictions. Moreover, if your BAC is over .15%, the penalties you face will be significantly steeper than what you might experience if your BAC were below that limit. While a first-time DUI conviction generally does not come with a mandatory minimum jail sentence, you could face up to 6 months in jail if your BAC is above .15%.
Additionally, if you were involved in an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol, the penalties you face will also be more severe, especially if it resulted in injuries or death. As you can see, many factors are examined in a DUI case, which can all affect the severity of the penalties you must endure if convicted. That is why it is vital to hire experienced legal guidance to handle your case.
Below are some of the consequences you will face for a first-time DUI in West Virginia:
- Up to $500 in fines, plus court costs
- An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for a minimum of 125 days
- License revocation for up to 45 days
- Without an ignition interlock device, your license revocation period will last for 6 months
If you receive three or more DUI convictions, your license could be revoked for life. You will also receive a jail sentence of up to 3 years.
Speak with One of Our Knowledgeable DUI Defense Attorneys in Cabell County
A DUI conviction can potentially change your life, so you must do everything possible to protect your rights and future. At The Wagner Law Firm in Cabell County, our DUI defense team has the knowledge, experience, and commitment necessary to effectively defend you and fight on your behalf. Moreover, we understand how difficult this situation must be, which is why we also provide compassionate advice. You are more than just a client to us.
Get started and contact The Wagner Law Firm today at (304) 461-6000 to set up a free initial case evaluation with one of our trusted DUI defense attorneys.