DUI Defense Attorneys in Mercer County
Fighting on Your Behalf to Secure the Best Possible Results
A DUI conviction can have a substantial impact on your life, especially if you have a prior offense on your record. Therefore, you must not resign yourself to defeat or assume that an arrest will lead to an automatic conviction. With proper legal assistance on your side, you can beat these charges and protect your future. At The Wagner Law Firm in Mercer County, our DUI defense team will fight vigorously on your behalf to lessen the impact this incident could have on your life.
Contact The Wagner Law Firm in Mercer County today at (304) 461-6000 to obtain the skilled legal counsel you need during this troubling time.
The Consequences of a DUI Conviction
Not unlike most states, West Virginia takes DUI cases seriously and, if convicted, you could have your license revoked and face a substantial amount of jail or prison time, depending on the number of offenses you have on your record and your BAC levels. Generally, the higher your BAC levels are, the more severe the penalties will be. If you were involved in an accident because you were drunk, resulting in bodily injuries or death, this would also increase the severity of the penalties you might face, which is why it is imperative to hire legal representation as soon as possible to handle your case.
Penalties for a First-Time Conviction in West Virginia
Getting a DUI for the first time can feel like the end of the world. However, if you hire an experienced defense attorney, you can potentially reduce or eliminate the charges.
Otherwise, these are some of the penalties you might face if convicted:
- All first offense DUIs carry a maximum six-month jail sentence
- If your BAC is greater than .15%, you could be fined up to $1,000. If it is below that level, you could be fined up to $500.
- If your BAC is greater than .15%, you could lose your license for one year or have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for ten and one-half months. If it is below .15%, you could lose your license for six months or have the interlock device installed in your vehicle for 140 days.
- If you refuse the breath machine, you could serve six months in prison, face a fine up to $500, and have your license suspended for one year or have an ignition interlock device in your car for thirteen and one-half months.
Subsequent DUI Offenses
If you receive a third DUI conviction, the consequences are particularly harsh. You can potentially receive a 5-year jail sentence, up to $5,000 in fines, and lifetime license revocation or four years of mandatory use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Contact Our Skilled DUI Defense Team in Mercer County
If you were charged with a DUI, do not hesitate to reach out to the team at The Wagner Law Firm in Mercer County for the aggressive legal representation you will need to safeguard your future. We understand how difficult this situation is and will do everything possible to secure the best possible results for your situation.
Take the first step toward protecting your rights and contact us at (304) 461-6000 to arrange a free initial consultation with one of our defense attorneys.