DUI Defense Attorney in Hancock County
Providing Fierce Legal Advocacy for Every Client We Serve
West Virginia treats DUI offenses seriously and, if convicted, you can face severe penalties, including jail time. Although you might feel like giving up, The Wagner Law Firm in Hancock County wants you to know that it is possible to fight against a DUI charge and win. Too much is at stake to resign yourself to defeat, so do what you can to protect your future by securing the experienced legal counsel you need during this difficult time.
Get started on safeguarding your future and reach out to The Wagner Law Firm at (304) 461-6000 to set up a free consultation with our experienced DUI defense attorney.
The Consequences of a DUI Conviction
Even for a first-time offense, DUI convictions tend to pack steep penalties in West Virginia, especially if your BAC is above .15%.
Below are the potential penalties you will face if convicted for a first-time DUI offense:
- Regardless of if your first-time offense is an aggravated or non-aggravated DUI, you can face up to 6 months in jail.
- If your first-time offense is an aggravated DUI, you might have to pay a fine between $200 and $1,000. For non-aggravated first-time offenses, your fine will be between $100 and $500.
- First-time non-aggravated offenders will lose their license for six months or choose to have an ignition interlock system in their vehicle for 140 days. Those charged with an aggravated DUI will have their license revoked for one year or elect to install an ignition interlock device for ten and one-half months.
Any subsequent DUI convictions will result in steeper penalties and, if convicted for a third time, your license can potentially be revoked for life.
DUI Convictions Involving a Driver Under 21 Years of Age
West Virginia has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. First-time offenders will pay a fine between $25 and $100 and endure a 60-day license revocation period or six months of ignition interlock in their vehicle. If convicted for a second time, an offender will be fined between $100 and $500. Additionally, second-time offenses will result in a 24-hour jail sentence and a license revocation that lasts up to 1 year or until the offender reaches the age of 21, depending on which is longer. This suspension period may be adjusted if the driver elects to utilize an ignition interlock device for a set period. To reinstate the license, the offender must complete the DUI Safety and Treatment Program.
Speak to an Experienced DUI Defense Attorney in Hancock County Today!
Being charged with a DUI is a troubling experience and you are probably feeling uncertain about the future. At The Wagner Law Firm, we understand how difficult this is and will do what is necessary to obtain the best possible results for your case. With more than two decades of legal experience, you can rely on us to protect your rights and future.
Get started today and contact our law office at (304) 461-6000 to arrange a free initial consultation with our trusted DUI defense attorney.
Award-Winning DUI Attorney Harley is the owner of The Wagner Law Firm, West Virginia’s only exclusive DUI defense law firm. Harley is a graduate of his beloved alma mater, West Virginia University, where he received a Bachelor of Science in journalism in 1990. He attended law school in Lansing, Michigan where he graduated from the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law in 1995. Criminal law and being a criminal defense attorney was Harley’s singular focus during and after law school. In furtherance of...