West Virginia Ignition Interlock Device Installation
The Blow & Go Program
The interlock ignition device is similar technology to the battery-powered portable breathalyzer that a police officer can use at the roadside to determine if you were driving under the influence of alcohol. The difference is that the interlock device attached to a motor vehicle is a computerized data storage system that is programmed to prevent drivers from operating the vehicle if there is alcohol in their system.
The driver must blow into the alcohol detector in order to turn the vehicle on. If the device detects alcohol, it will prevent the driver from starting the car. The device will alert the monitoring service if anyone tampers with or attempts to disengage or override the system.
Learn more about the blow and go program by contacting The Wagner Law Firm at (304) 461-6000.
What is a Blow and Go?
In West Virginia, the device and program are commonly referred to as the “blow and go.” By sampling your breath and utilizing fuel cell technology, your blood alcohol content (BAC) can be determined after you exhale into the device.
Use of an ignition interlock device is part of the Alcohol Test and Lock Program, or WV ATLP.
A State-Approved Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device (IID) must be installed on all cars you own and plan to drive. You must have this device installed by a state-approved company. Your vehicle will not start if the device detects alcohol in your alcohol breath test. It does this by having you blow into a tube that then measures and records your BAC.
A data storage device notes the date, time, and numeric BAC results from ignition interlock devices. You are required to go to a service center every 30 days to have your installer download the stored data, and report this to the State of West Virginia. These stored recordings of your BAC level (which are captured every time the device is activated) can be used in court against you.
When is Getting an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of West Virginia?
West Virginia has required the use of Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) for certain drivers who have been found guilty of DUI or other drinking and driving related offense. IIDs are typically used as a condition of having a convicted offender’s driving privileges reinstated. They are used in the following 5 types of common DUI conviction scenarios:
- If your driver’s license has been revoked because of a DUI related charge.
- Serving a term of condition for probation.
- A driver who was charged with first time DUI may elect a 15-day license revocation and four months of driving with an IID (in certain cases).
- Refusal to submit to the Breathalyzer or Blood test must use an Interlock for one year.
- If you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI charge must use an IID for two years.
Contact the DUI Lawyer with a Statewide Criminal Law Practice
West Virginia DUI attorney Harley Wagner can explain the pros and cons of choosing to install an interlock device instead of having your driver’s license suspended. Seek free legal advice from a DUI specialist before you make a move in either direction.
Call Harley at (304) 461-6000 for a free consultation. The Wagner Law Firm serves clients in Berkeley, Jefferson, and Monongalia counties and throughout West Virginia.
Dismissed .08 DUI Causing Death case (Clarksburg, WV)
Reduced to Misdemeanor .14 Felony DUI Causing Death Case (Martinsburg, WV)
Charge Reduced Aggravated DUI 1st (Morgantown, WV)
Dismissed DUI 1st (Martinsburg, WV)
Dismissed DUI 1st (Morgantown, WV)