West Virginia First-Offense DUI Attorney
What are the Penalties for First-Offense DUI Conviction in WV?
If you have been arrested for DUI for the very first time, you are probably wondering how you can make this go away. Your job, your family, your license, and your freedom are all at stake right now. What about just pleading guilty to the charges against you? While some may think this is an easy escape, it isn’t. Pleading guilty means you are going to face lifelong DUI penalties. If you make the choice to fight your first offense DUI, you have a chance to end up with a much better result.
Do I Need a DUI Attorney for a First Offense?
It is strongly recommended that you should consult with an attorney if you have been charged with a DUI, even for a first offense. At the Wagner Law Firm, our first-offense DUI lawyers in West Virginia can explain the state's specific laws and penalties, as well as help you navigate the court system and possibly negotiate a plea bargain or reduction of charges. It is crucial to contact our team as soon as possible after being charged, to ensure that you have the best possible outcome in your specific case.
According to West Virginia drunk driving laws, there is no minimum DUI jail sentence if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is less than .15%; anything higher will result in a maximum of 6 months and a minimum of 48 hours in jail, 24 of which must be served. Fines are up to $500 for a BAC below .15% and up to $1,000 for BAC above .15%.
For cases where the BAC is below .15%, known as non-aggravated DUIs, the driver could also lose their license for six months or choose to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their vehicle for 140 days. For aggravated DUIs, those with BAC above .15%, the driver could lose their license for one year or have an ignition interlock device for ten and one-half month.Let The Wagner Law Firm fight for you. West Virginia DUI attorney Harley Wagner can put 22 years of experience to work for you in pursuit of a favorable resolution. Everyone makes mistakes, and everyone deserves a second chance. Don’t let one DUI impact the rest of your life.
When is a First DUI a Felony in West Virginia?
While a first DUI n West Virginia is usually charged as a misdemeanor, it is still possible to face a felony charge for a first-time offense.
For instance, if an alleged drunk driver causes an accident that results in another person suffering a serious bodily injury or a death, the driver could be charged with felony DUI. Another example is driving while intoxicated with a child passenger in the vehicle.
A felony DUI is punishable by longer license suspension periods, more costly fines compared to misdemeanor DUIs, and a potential state prison sentence, rather than serving time in county jail.
Compassionate Advocacy for First-Time DUI Offenders
This may be your first criminal offense ever, and you may be frightened – but there is hope in all of this. Finding the right lawyer is crucial in battling your DUI charge. Harley Wagner can fight to protect your reputation, your job, and your right to drive.
Dismissed .08 DUI Causing Death case (Clarksburg, WV)
Reduced to Misdemeanor .14 Felony DUI Causing Death Case (Martinsburg, WV)
Charge Reduced Aggravated DUI 1st (Morgantown, WV)
Dismissed DUI 1st (Martinsburg, WV)
Dismissed DUI 1st (Morgantown, WV)