Penalties are severe for a felony WV DUI
Your life has been turned upside down by your West Virginia DUI charge. There is so much at risk for you right now. If you are convicted, penalties for WV drunk driving are severe. Repeat offenders could spend years behind bars. Even first time drunk driving offenders are at risk of going to jail. Plus, your driver’s license may have already been suspended and could be for a lifetime if you don’t get a good lawyer on your side right away. Harley Wagner has experiencing fighting DUI cases in West Virginia. He will work to get you a much better outcome in your case. Talk to him today about how he can help.
What penalties are possible after a West Virginia DUI conviction? Well a lot depends on your history with DUI. If you are a first time offender, you could spend a minimum of one day in jail, and a maximum of 6 months behind bars. Plus, you could be fined anywhere from $100 to $500. If you have been convicted once before, the penalties go up. A second DUI offense could land you in jail for as little as 6 months and as long as one year.
First and second DUI charges in West Virginia are considered misdemeanors, but your third offense is a felony. Penalties for a third DUI is a minimum of two years in prison to as much as five years behind bars. If your DUI includes the death of another person, your time behind bars could go be three to fifteen years in the state penitentiary. You could be fined as much as $5000 or as little as $3000.
Then there is the matter of your driver’s license. In addition to a criminal case, you will have another hearing with the DMV in which your driver’s license suspension will be determined. Your suspension depends on how many times you have been convicted of a DUI in West Virginia. It also matters if you agreed to submit to chemical testing or not. Note that if you refused chemical testing and you have multiple DUIs in your past, your license could be lost forever. This is a key reason that you need the Wagner Law Firm on your side. Harley Wagner has a decade of experiencing fighting for justice in WV drunk driving cases. He also knows how to help save your license and reduce the amount of time it has been suspended. Remember, in West Virginia, you cannot get a temporary permit to drive to and from work, so it is essential to have the right lawyer fighting to get your license back.
It’s important to note that in West Virginia, you prior offenses matter a great deal when it comes to penalties. According to West Virginia DUI laws, there is a 10-year look-back period for DUIs. That means if you have a prior DUI offense that happened more than 10 years ago, your new DUI charge will be considered a first offense. If you have one or more DUIs within 10 years, your current case will be considered a second or third (felony) DUI.
There is so much at risk for you right now. That’s why you need to enlist the help of a skilled WV drunk driving lawyer like Harley Wagner. He runs the only DUI law firm in the entire state of West Virginia that is completely dedicated to DUI defense. Harley Wagner has spent the last 16+ years fighting more than 1800 DUI cases all over West Virginia. Meet with him to discuss your defense. He can help you get the best possible outcome in your specific DUI case.