Your life has been turned upside down by your West Virginia DUI arrest. There is so much at risk for you right now. If you are convicted, penalties for WV drunk driving are severe. Repeat offenders could spend years behind bars.
Even first-time drunk driving offenders are at risk of going to jail. Plus, your driver’s license may have already been suspended, and it could be for a lifetime if you don’t get a good DUI WV lawyer on your side right away.
Harley Wagner has 16 years experience fighting DUI cases in West Virginia. He will work to get you a much better outcome in your case. Talk to him today about how he can help.
What DUI penalties in WV are possible after a conviction? A lot depends on your history with getting DUIs. If you are a first-time offender, you could spend a minimum of one day in jail up to a maximum of 6 months behind bars.
Plus, you could be fined anywhere from $100 to $500. If you have been convicted once before, the penalties go up. A second DUI offense could land you in jail for as little as 6 months and as long as one year.
Is a WV DUI a Misdemeanor or a Felony?
First and second DUI charges in West Virginia are considered misdemeanors, but your third offense is a felony. Penalties for a third DUI include a minimum of two years in prison to as much as five years behind bars.
If your impaired driving results in the death of another person, you could spend three to fifteen years in the state penitentiary, and be fined between $3,000 and $5,000 dollars.
What Happens to My Driver’s License?
Then there is the matter of your driver’s license. In addition to a criminal case, you will have a separate hearing with the DMV in which your driver’s license suspension will be determined.
Your license suspension depends on how many times you have been convicted of a DUI in West Virginia. It also matters if you agreed to submit to breath testing or not. Note that if you refused to blow and you have multiple DUIs in your past, your license could be gone forever.
This is a key reason that you need The Wagner Law Firm on your side. Harley Wagner has a lot of experience fighting for justice in WV drunk driving cases. He also knows how to help save your license and reduce the amount of time it will be suspended.
Remember, in West Virginia you cannot get a temporary permit to drive to and from work, so it is essential to have the right lawyer fighting to get your license back.
Do DUI Penalties Increase If I Have More Than One DUI in 10 Years?
It’s important to note that in West Virginia, you prior offenses matter a great deal when it comes to penalties. According to West Virginia DUI laws, there is a 10-year look-back period for DUIs. That means if you have a prior DUI offense that happened more than 10 years ago, your new DUI charge will be considered a first offense.
But if you have one or more DUIs within 10 years, your current case will be considered a second DUI or third (felony) DUI.
There is so much at risk for you right now. That’s why you need to enlist the help of a skilled WV drunk driving lawyer like Harley Wagner. Harley runs the only DUI law firm in the entire state of West Virginia that is completely dedicated to DUI defense.
Harley Wagner has spent the last 17+ years fighting more than 1,800 DUI cases all over West Virginia. Meet with him to discuss your defense. Harley can help you get the best possible outcome in your specific DUI case.